SUBVERSES China in Mozambique

 
SUBVERSES China in Mozambique gives an insight into China’s presence in Mozambique, which is already visible in Maputo’s cityscape. Many Chinese are investing and living in Africa. The two most well-known Chinese projects are the National Football Stadium and the new airport in Maputo. SUBVERSES China in Mozambique gives a voice to Slam poets, construction workers and Chinese who are telling their reverse stories about these investments.

Director's Biography
ELLA RAIDEL, geb. 1970 in Gmunden. Kunststudium in Linz, Prag und London. Raidel ist Videoküstlerin und Filmemacherin, präsentierte ihre Arbeiten auf internationalen Video- und Filmfestivals sowie in Ausstellungen. Sie erhielt einen Crossing Europe Award Local Artist 2010 für Slam Video Maputo.

Filme (Auswahl): Family Trophies I & Family Trophies II (1997-1998, KF), Pharmacie (2000, KF), Somewhere, late afternoon... (2007, KF; CE '08), farewell is the hardest word to say (2010, KF), Slam Video Maputo (2010, KF; CE '10), SUBVERSES China in Mozambique (2010, Dok)
CROSSING EUROPE AWARDS
2011: CROSSING EUROPE Award – Local Artist
Local Artists 2011
Ella Raidel
Mozambique / Austria 2011
color
46 minutes
OV with English subtitles
Screenplay Ella Raidel
Cinematography Ella Raidel
Editing Ella Raidel, Thomas Schneider
Music Matchume Zango
With Mestre Tchaka, Pha Teca-Teca, Raimundo

SUBVERSES China in Mozambique

 
Der Dokumentarfilm SUBVERSES China in Mozambique gibt am Beispiel von Mosambik Einblick in die chinesischen Investitionen in Afrika. China finanziert dortige Infrastrukturprojekte und erhält als Gegenleistung Rohstoffe. Die zwei renommiertesten Bauprojekte sind der Flughafen und das Nationale Fußballstadion in Maputo. Von der Kehrseite der Investitionen erzählen in SUBVERSES China in Mozambique Bauarbeiter und Slampoeten, die mit ihren Versen für Gerechtigkeit plädieren. Teile des Films basieren auf einem Text, der von einem chinesischen Arbeiter in Mosambik verfasst wurde. Die Premiere fand auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival Rotterdam statt.

SUBVERSES China in Mozambique gives an insight into China’s presence in Mozambique, which is already visible in Maputo’s cityscape. Many Chinese are investing and living in Africa. The two most well-known Chinese projects are the National Football Stadium and the new airport in Maputo. SUBVERSES China in Mozambique gives a voice to Slam poets, construction workers and Chinese who are telling their reverse stories about these investments.

Director's Biography
ELLA RAIDEL, geb. 1970 in Gmunden. Kunststudium in Linz, Prag und London. Raidel ist Videoküstlerin und Filmemacherin, präsentierte ihre Arbeiten auf internationalen Video- und Filmfestivals sowie in Ausstellungen. Sie erhielt einen Crossing Europe Award Local Artist 2010 für Slam Video Maputo.

Filme (Auswahl): Family Trophies I & Family Trophies II (1997-1998, KF), Pharmacie (2000, KF), Somewhere, late afternoon... (2007, KF; CE '08), farewell is the hardest word to say (2010, KF), Slam Video Maputo (2010, KF; CE '10), SUBVERSES China in Mozambique (2010, Dok)
CROSSING EUROPE AWARDS
2011: CROSSING EUROPE Award – Local Artist
Local Artists 2011
Ella Raidel
Mosambik / Österreich 2011
color
46 Minuten
OmeU
Drehbuch Ella Raidel
Kamera Ella Raidel
Schnitt Ella Raidel, Thomas Schneider
Musik Matchume Zango
Mit Mestre Tchaka, Pha Teca-Teca, Raimundo